That Fateful Day.

The day started like any other day. I partially didn’t wake up to my alarm, wondering what the bells were doing in my room. After realizing it was my alarm, I reset my alarm for a half hour later. Like I said… it was a day like any other.

After showering, then figuring out which direction my door was, I made my way straight to the coffee. Checked my email. did some dishes, packed lunches, dried my hair, let the kids sleep in till the last possible second… then woke them up only twenty minutes until we needed to leave to drop off Ian at school.

We raced out the door — in tow, my darling kids with brushed hair and clean clothes, and me (doing the towing), supermom, ready to take on the world — with everything in neat, organized bags ready to stay in town all day.

So, we dropped off Ian, ran a few errands, and then headed to the library to meet up with my friend. I casually reached for my smartphone to call said friend.

But wait. Where was my phone? I checked my purse, my bag, my pockets, under the seats of the van. IT. WASN’T. THERE.

I let out a scream of distress, and suddenly out of nowhere, Spiderman showed up with my phone. Only, it wasn’t Spiderman, and it wasn’t even my phone. It was reality, telling me MY LIFE was at home on my nightstand.

I actually managed to call my friend from another friends phone (thank you Ali) to try to connect with her, and had to leave a voicemail. About an hour later, I called her number again, only to realize she had called three hours earlier to CANCEL. No big deal, except MY LIFE was at home on my nightstand.

Fortunately, the whole kerfuffle ended up in a lovely (and overdue) playdate and time catching up with Ali, whose phone I borrowed to call my other friend, so that was glorious!

In the meantime, I had the next few hours to contemplate how utterly sad it is that I am SO dependent on my phone. It has the Facebook, and the Contacts, and the Pinterest App (SO important), and the google calendar…

Whatever did people do without smartphones?! (I sarcastically but actually seriously thought to myself)

So, as my friend texts me to apologize for cancelling (which I understood), and my other friend Facebooks me to thank me for a good time hanging out (which I enjoyed), I am left with this thought:

How do I reduce my screen time, online time, and connectedness, in a world that depends on technology?

My answer: one step at a time.picture001

2 thoughts on “That Fateful Day.

  1. Glad you found your phone Kells. Looks like you’ll have your snuggle buddy back after all.

    • kelirium says:

      Btw Erika, I hope you see the Proud Teapot of to the Right side in the corner of the counter. It follows me everywhere. Only by everywhere, I mean I leave it on a very very safe place in our house where the kids’ bouncy balls and swords can’t smash it to pieces.

Leave a Reply

