Parenting.

We had a few friends over tonight, enjoyed some delicious corned beef and related items, and kept all our kids up way too late. We had a fantastic time, and now I’m wiped out.

But what I might remember most from this night, is the question my son asked me right before I turned the lights out and closed the door.

I sent Ian and Ana into their room to settle down and read some books, while I finished up the dishes. As I tucked the kids into their beds, said a prayer, and gave them kisses, Ian sat up.

With his gorgeous light brown eyes, he asked, “Mommy, is being a mommy hard, or is it not hard?”

Without thinking about it, I simply answered, “Ian, I’m tired. A lot. But I will always love you, and that will never change.”

I picture God saying that to me sometimes. I must wear Him out with my whining and worry. But in the end, He loves me unconditionally because I belong to Him.

So really, this post isn’t about my OWN parenting. 🙂

One thought on “Parenting.

  1. Love Ian’s question and your response. You are a great momma and even in those tired days/moments you respond so wisely. Keep writing you are an inspiration to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

