Plans.

As I typed out the title to this post, my mind went immediately to a verse that is, for me, a very pivotal verse in my journey as a person (well, as opposed to a giraffe I guess). As I looked it up to be sure I had the wording correct, I realized it was the verse of the day on the website I usually use. Coincidence? The rest of the world might think so.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future..” Jeremiah 29:11

I’m one of those faithful ones. I pray when people get hurt, or are dying or sick. I pray fervently when people struggle with infertility or marital instability. I believe firmly that God DOES have the power to miraculously heal, audibly speak, and inexplicably transform us when we least expect it. I desire for people to know just how powerful God really is, and I know the only way people fully understand this is when they have experienced or witnessed His indescribable phenomenons.

I also desire for people to know that our perceived “dead ends” aren’t truly what they seem. The way I see it, is that when I’ve reached the end of the path and all I see is an open sky and a hundred foot cliff beneath my feet, I know there’s a reason.

It has been an interesting year. One of change, improved perspectives, massive life changes, and character growth I didn’t expect to experience. I’ve watched people I care about go through some trials, victories, miracles, some redemptive life circumstances… and its just so interesting to see this ebb and flow of all of us doing our best to make sense of it.

The best part though, is that we don’t have to make sense of it. We don’t have to figure things out. I wonder what would happen if we waited patiently for God to give us direction, rather than making assumptions and taking off down an unknown path that may possibly lead to destruction.

I love the next few verses in this passage: “Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you.”

He is a God who listens, a God who cares, a God who wants us to find Him. I believe that in being patient and believing in His unfaltering plan, He will move in our lives and transform life as we know it. But this doesn’t always mean we will experience good! We have to trust that as we seek Him and follow that path, the hope and future He promises is just around the corner.

As I set one foot in front of the other, I would like to think instead of looking ahead and trusting in my own faulty judgment, I am looking upward and seeking to walk by faith.

2 thoughts on “Plans.

  1. Gary Ayers says:

    Good stuff . . . keep sharing your heart . . .for your heart is His Heart! His Word never ever returns void! Living life . . . is never easy. Just keep trusting and believing . . . LU

  2. Melody Franzen says:

    I think this is my favorite one yet! Having had an interesting couple of years this definitely speaks to me. I have begun keeping a prayer journal- sort of my own “letters to God” and I am amazed at the peace it’s bringing me. I can see the changes in our lives and I feel like I can finally begin the see the path before me. Thanks for posting Kelly 🙂

Leave a Reply

