Home.

**I was writing another blog post and checking my poetry from a class in college… this one brought back such good memories of my backyard in Edmonds when we lived in the “big red house.” Those were my cherished days. :)**

“Home” by Kelly Leffel

in the solitude of afternoon

rays of sun whisper

through the evergreens

one hand behind my neck

the other holding a dandelion

heat seeping

into my young skin

as I lay on the soft, cool grass

classical melodies

radiate inside my home

harmony searching

I stay where I am

over there, beyond the green

fullness, we dream

some say this afternoon

will fade.

but their eyes

have not seen the sun

from where I lay

Leave a Reply

