House Hunters

I live in a 600 square foot apartment with my husband, our rambunctious five year old son, and our feisty (but sweet) three year old daughter. We live above our cafe which makes life convenient for my husband. However, the lack of space, yard, dishwasher, laundry, and knee space (while reading on the toilet) occasionally (or regularly. tomato tomato) get to me. Also, our bed is a futon, and its behind our living room couch.

This post, however, has nothing to do with my complaints. We’re breathing, we have food, heat, blankets, and strong family and community. We don’t need anything.

Watching HGTV’s “My First Place” and “House Hunters” earlier today, I enjoyed noting the expectations people had of their potential home. Must be within a certain outrageous price range, a room for each member of the house including the dog and goldfish, architecture, location, etc… the list goes on. Don’t get me wrong… I do want a Craftsman or Victorian style house (as pictured to the Right) with a nice yard and neighbor kids… but in reality, here’s how the conversation might go at this point in time.

“Hi Kelly, welcome to House Hunters.”

Hi Todd (I don’t really know the host’s name).

“What kind of house are you looking for?”

The kind that doesn’t fall apart.

“Hmm, so what style do you think might fit your needs?”

The style with plumbing and a roof, and some walls.

“Do you prefer real wood or pergo flooring?”

The kind that’s on top of the foundation and can withstand child usage.

“How many bedrooms are you looking for?”

One for my husband and I. Is there a playhouse for the kids to sleep in?

“No.”

Ok then I guess two.

“Do you prefer central heating systems or baseboards?”

Yes.

“What kind of washer and dryer will you be installing?”

The kind that run.

“What size yard are you looking for?”

One my kids can destroy and still look good. Is that possible?

“Sure, if its cement.”

Ok, then I want a cement yard.

“What are your security needs?”

How about I give keycodes to only people I know, and if anyone else tries to enter my house, they get shocked?

“Ok, what about privacy.”

Yes please.

So… there’s really no conclusion. Have fun with that, Type A personalities! 🙂

Leave a Reply

